Notice of Presidential Preference Vote & Spring Election: NOTICE OF PRESIDENTIAL PREFERENCE VOTEAND SPRING ELECTIONState of WisconsinApril 2,2024NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that at an election to be held inthe several cities, villages, towns, wards, and election districts ofthe State of Wisconsin, on Tuesday, April 2, 2024, there will beheld a Presidential Preference Vote to express preference for aperson to be the presidential candidate for the Democratic orRepublican parties under Wis. Stat. $ 8.12(1). SpruNc Et gcrtoxNOTICE, IS HEREBY GIVEN that an election is to be held in thetowns, villages, cities, wards, and election districts of the State ofWisconsin, on Tuesday, April 2,2024. The following officers areto be elected:Judicial OfficersOne Court of Appeal Judge, for the term of six (6) years, tosucceed the present incumbent listed, whose term of office willexpire on July 31, 2024:District IV    JoAnne F. KloppenburgOne Circuit Court Judge, for the term of six (6) years, to succeedthe present incumbent listed, whose term of office will expire onJuly 31, 2024:Monroe County Circuit Court Judge Branch 3 Rick Radclifffe County SupervisorA County Supervisor for each county supervisory district, for aterm of two (2) years, to succeed the present incumbent listed,whose term will expire on April 15, 2024:District I   Cedric SchnitzlerDistrict 2    David PierceDistrict 3    Nodji VanWychenDistrict 4    Jason JandtDistrict 5    Wallace HabheggerDistrict 6    David KudererDistrict 7    Toni WissestadDistrict 8    Zachariah ZebellDistrict 9    Todd R. SparksDistrict 10  Mary J. CookDistrict 11  Adam BalzDistrict 12  Eric DevineDistrict 13  Remy GomezDistrict 14  James B. KuhnDistrict 15  Joey EsterlineDistrict 16  Doug RogallaInformation concerning county supervisory district boundariesmay be obtained from the Monroe County Clerk, 202 South KStreet, RM l, Sparta, wl 54656 or by calling at 608-269-8705or visiting us   Municipal JudgeA Municipal Judge, serving more than one municipality, for aterm of two years, to succeed the present incumbent listed,whose term of office will expire on April 30, 2024:Village of Kendall, Village of Union Center, Village ofWonewoc, City of Elroy,,Village of Ontario and the Cityof Hillsboro Richard E. TylerA Municipal Judge, serving more than one municipality, for aterm of four years, to succeed the present incumbent listed,whose term of office will expire on April 30, 2024:Village of Cashton in Monroe County, Village of La Fargeand the Cities of Viroqua and Westby in Vernon CountyNikki C. SwayneInformation concerning multi-j urisdictional municipal judgedistrict boundaries may be obtained from the Monroe CountyClerk, 202 South K Street, RM 1, Sparta, WI 54656 or bycalling at 608-269-8705 or visiting For CandidatesThe first day to circulate nomination papers is December 1,2023, and the final day for filing nomination papers is 5:00 p.m.on Tuesduy, January 2,2024. Candidates for Court of AppealsJudge and Circuit Court Judge file with the Wisconsin E,lectionsCommission. Primary ElectionIf a primary is necessary, the primary will be held on Tuesday,February 20,2024.Additional InformationAcceptable Photo ID will be required to vote at this election. Ifyou do not have a photo ID, you may obtain a free ID for votingfrom the Division of Motor Vehicles.DONE in the City of Sparta on November 1 I ,2023.Shelley BohlMonroe County ClerkPlease visit for election information  


Road Bans for Monroe County start March 6th







(608) 269 – 8740 / 269 – 8831 (FAX)

[email protected]













DATE      24 FEBRUARY 2023





Pursuant to §349.16, Wisconsin Statutes, the Monroe County Highway Department will implement seasonal weight restrictions on all County Trunk Highways beginning Monday, March 6th.  Restrictions become effective upon the placement of signs.  The restrictions limit vehicle weight to 6 tons per single axle and 10 tons per any two axles spaced less than eight feet apart.


Seasonal weight restrictions are placed each spring to reduce damage to the roadway when the roadbed becomes unstable as frost is leaving the ground. 


  • 349.16(3), Wisconsin Statutes, and the Highway Department Policy on Vehicle Weight Restrictions & Permits provide for certain exceptions to these restrictions. The policy may be accessed at the Highway Department web-page at Operators meeting the established criteria should contact the Highway Department for further information. 


Requests for emergency single-trip exemptions may be considered on a case-by-case basis and are subject to a $100.00 permit fee.  Exceptions are not typically granted for loads that can be reasonably divided, lightened or delayed.


No vehicle, with or without a permit, may exceed the limit posted on a bridge.


The seasonal weight restrictions will remain in effect until the roadbed dries out and stabilizes and the signs are removed.  For further information, please contact the Highway Department at 803 Washington Street in Sparta, by telephone at (608) 269 – 8740, or via e-mail at [email protected].